One line media codec installation in Ubuntu

This simple commandline installs the most common restricted codecs in Hardy Heron, allowing you to play mp3, aac, DVD ,mp4, avi, wmv, divx and many more formats. It also installs the codecs for ripping mp3s. It also installs VLC and Exaile media players

sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-pitfdll gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad gstreamer0.10-plugins-bad-multiverse gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly gstreamer0.10-plugins-ugly-multiverse libsubtitles-perl vlc vlc-nox exaile

Who says Ubuntu does not play MUZIC ?

7 thoughts on “One line media codec installation in Ubuntu

  1. Yes, indeed and can’t get any simpler than this.

    What could be more easier than to just `copy-paste` this line, wait for 10 seconds and fire up your favorite media player to rock your music?

    By the way, this commandline installs several packages through just one command. If this is not simple, then … ?!?!

    Edit: I would like to know if there is any **simpler** way of doing this.

  2. This command isn’t complete.

    I created one on my blog, I suggest you also use it:

    sudo wget http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/hardy.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list && wget -q http://packages.medibuntu.org/medibuntu-key.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add – && sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install -y ubuntu-restricted-extras non-free-codecs w32codecs totem-mozilla libdvdcss2

    This is for Ubuntu 8.04, for Ubuntu 8.10 change “hardy” to “intrepid”.

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of
    any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet
    my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like
    this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your
    blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

