yourname@dr-ait.org – Micro$oft, you suck!

How many times again and again and again does Micro$oft proves its non-competency in the industry? This really has reached heights of monopoly and an unsatisfiable quench to conquer the world. In the process Micro$oft fails miserably and makes a fool of itself.

I take a “live” example to prove myself.

Having a mail server is a primary necessity for any educational institution. Since my college did not have one, the concerned personnel in collaboration with the Micro$oft Student Partner decided to use Micro$oft applications to provide email IDs to students and staff. This is surely a matter of pride for anybody in the institution to have the email – yourname@dr-ait.org.I appreciate the pain taken by these people to create email IDs for more than a thousand students and staff.

I don’t blame the college personnel for their ignorance to choose Micro$oft Live @edu. Micro$oft’s cheap mentality behind providing these services which they claim to be free(definitely not) is to be blamed.

All students were instructed to login into their mailbox at http://mail.live.com . I was stunned at what I saw. Anybody who wants to access his mailbox is forced to use Internet Explorer. The server will not respond if the user uses Mozilla Firefox. Holy shit, Isn’t this crap.

The error message I saw, left me speechless. Never before ever in my experience Mozilla Firefox had I seen this kind of an error message – “Redirect Loop”. Screenshot of the error is here.

You have to believe me at this point of time that I have enabled cookies.

The second note made me laugh my heart out –

Its likely to be a server configuration error and not on your computer.

Do not get fooled by the link in the address bar. Its redirected from http://mail.live.com. Its been a tradition of Micro$oft to make links look complicated just to show off.

Still don’t believe me? See this video. I am using Ubuntu Hardy Heron with Firefox 3.

Huh!

Finally, Opera could open the mailbox and what I saw made me say YUCK! If shit could shit, it would be Hotmail and its mailbox interface.Its so hard for anybody using GMail for more than four years where life is made easy, to just even compose a mail in Hotmail.

Micro$oft boasts that it provides these services for free? Ah-em. There are banner Ads and Flash based Ads in the mailbox. One in the header and another in the sidebar. I just sent a mail to my GMail ID to test the validity of Hotmail. Again, Micro$oft proved its Business mentality. Automatically Text Ads were added to the signature of the email sent through Hotmail. This is so very irritating.

My sincere advice to all institutions opting for a student-staff collaboration – Please Use Google Apps. Save students from the crucked, cunning world of Micro$oft.

I repeat, Micro$oft, you suck.

16 thoughts on “yourname@dr-ait.org – Micro$oft, you suck!

  1. Free means, you don’t have to pay for it. Since you are of gmail generation, you probably wouldn’t know, there were/are services that ask the user to pay for email.

    Dark time was when Yahoo “discontinued” pop service on free mail and asked users to upgrade to paid service to get pop access. A decent business practice shouldn’t take away what you promised to give, come what may, methinks.

  2. He He He. I seriously donno what to say. I thought I already knew a lot about their monopoly and totally incompetent measures. But this makes me feel that, there are still lots to learn from Micro$oft. Thanks for sharing this Aditya. This is monopoly at its heights. Or should I call stupidity to its core, eh? 😉

    By making it not work in FireFox Micro$of thinks that its most intelligent and has proved something really great. But one thing is for sure. People are no more as ignorant as they were before. They think well now. They are intelligent. Best thing they do is ditch Micro$oft products. This is not my personal opinion. This is what I have heard from many of my friends who don’t even have idea about Computer Science concepts, the differences. What they want all is a Software that gives good performance for the hardware they have. They don’t care for more. And they now know where they get it. Micro$oft should really know this.

    And the best thing is the message shown by FireFox. I cannot control laughing. HA HA HA 😀
    Hats off FireFox. You could not have given a better message 😛

  3. I still don’t understand why Open Source Guys like you are so narrow minded?

    As a student the first thing one must learn is to “Appreciate” a technology. Once you join an organization to earn your bread, these kind of jealousy and hatred is expected but as a STUDENT???

    Your demo was a “flawed one” as I always use Safari, Firefox and Chrome to open my Live ID..

    Using words like “You Suck” on companies like Google or Microsoft can land you in jail throughout your lifetime as I am pretty sure you CANNOT AFFORD to pay the fine for DEFAMATION…

    Please grow up and think matured..

  4. @Anil. Excellent Suggestion. Its really great to get the suggestion from a person about NIMHANS like this, person who has so much experience in NIMHANS 😛 and knows about the Doctors there too. How many years did you spend there btw?

  5. @ Anil and @ Raveeh
    I don’t know what you both are upto. But it definitely shows your cheap mentality of taking things to personal levels and talking about Nimhans and stuff. Did we talk anything personal about you two? Be careful when talking about Public in general and things in personal. Making things personal may make matters worse and turn out to be extrmely dangerous. A friendly warning that was. If you still want to continue your flame wars in this cheap personal way Ok carry on. No one cares for you thats all.

  6. @ Raveesh

    –> I still don’t understand why Open Source Guys like you are so narrow minded?

    You need to write more to prove this statement, or if you cannot understand how the open source community works, better STFU – http://www.stfu.se/

    –> As a student the first thing one must learn is to “Appreciate” a technology. Once you join an organization to earn your bread, these kind of jealousy and hatred is expected but as a STUDENT???

    If you call ‘the matter of discussion’ as technology, then sorry its not worth appreciating. I think its perfectly alright for a student to express his views. Infact its us(students) who have to start a revolution. You think I am jealous? of what?!?! You think I hate? whom ?!?!

    –> Your demo was a “flawed one” as I always use Safari, Firefox and Chrome to open my Live ID.

    Wow! I am very happy to hear that you do not use IE. You have no proof do say my demo is flawed. My video cannot lie nor my browser. If it works for you, fine, enjoy it. It does not work for me. I cannot compose mails in hotmail. Just to test if it works for you, please send me an email through your live ID from Firefox running on Linux. But, there is no way to prove that you sent it from linux, but if I get a mail, I believe you. My email – aditya.kavoor@gmail.com

    –> Using words like “You Suck” on companies like Google or Microsoft can land you in jail throughout your lifetime as I am pretty sure you CANNOT AFFORD to pay the fine for DEFAMATION…

    Is it? Go on. Lodge a complaint. All the best.

    –> Please grow up and think matured.

    When you think you are grown up and think matured, you will answer all my questions.

  7. @ madhu : Its a social service am doing to help mentally challenged people. 🙂 and its totally not wrong if ur anti Microsoft guy, because Google SoC has paid you a huge “bribe” of 2 lakhs + to talk like tat. So, carry on. Its ur job now. I know the wild games of google, and hence threw Google Apps out of the college. 🙂 Long live Microsoft.

  8. @ Anil,
    Great to get social service from people who have already served some years there. But we cannot just trust if you are totally alright. You might have come out with a certificate that you are alright paying the bribe too. We are just scared to take your social service. But carry on. Some one of your cheap stature will one day definitely take it. Good Work! Keep it up dude. And coming to the bribe part. Your such a cheap *** that you take bribes and pay double games with Companies and organization. I will come up with an open letter about you cheap *** **** mentality and double game you play.

  9. @Anil,
    More over yeah they have paid the bribe for doing some social work. There is something to show at least for why they have paid. Not like the bribe thats being paid in sponsoring a GOA TRIP 😀 😀 😀 that helped you watch bay girls.

    Talk is cheap dude, show us the code!?!?!?

  10. @Madhusudhan, Please read my comments carefully.. Show me even one statement where I went so personal to him. I was commenting about the HEALTHY Attitude that we, as students must inculcate..

    @Adithya, I wanted to inform you that I don’t subscribe to your thoughts.. Rather than commenting on how badly something works, please try the following…

    For the Redirect Loop problem (my good friend from RVCE suggested this) :-

    Clear the cache and delete cookies from site(s) that cause problems:
    Tools > Options > Advanced > Network > Offline Storage (Cache): “Clear Now”
    Tools > Options > Privacy > Cookies: “Show Cookies”
    Please make sure that you allow the cookies for all the domains that Hotmail and Windows live uses.

    I said your comment of new Hotmail not working is a flawed one. NOT A FAKE ONE.
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=962904 There is a solution for this. So if you wish, you can try finding solutions for the problem.. Its basically a “USER AGENT SWITCHER” problem..

    Also regarding lodging a complaint, I am neither the board of members of MS nor
    an employee. I am a student like you. Why would I want a student to face defamation case? Adithya, please note that your demo of how to play NFS MW in LAN is a demo in Windows ( https://kavoor.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/how-to-nfs-mw-lan-play-on-hamachi/). Windows has its own charm man. We are neither Richard Stallman nor Scott McNealy to comment on Microsoft.

    Look dude, I visit your blog regularly for information. Trust me, there are loads of folks who would be disgusted to see your comment on Microsoft. It would index very soon in Search engines and you will loose respect dude. Please stop this..

    Look everyone, Please try appreciating corporations and technologies for its own beauty atleast as a student.

    If considering SoC, MSP Program etc as bribe, I don’t think there is a necessity for a word in Dictionary called “Scholarship”.

    @Anil, Madhusudhan and Adithya, We all are tech enthusiasts. Don’t you think using our enthusiasm for the betterment of technology and humanity in general is advantageous than posting filthy comments.

    My last cent on this. No more fights please…

  11. @ Raveesh

    Seriously, I wanted this fight to continue. Sad that you accepted defeat so early. OK, we will now have a friendly discussion on this matter.

    -> Show me even one statement where I went so personal to him.
    – – ->Please grow up and think matured. You should not be speaking like this.

    -> Solution for redirect loop thingy.
    If you have read my blog carefully, I have mentioned that my cookies were enabled at that point of time. Its foolishness to ask someone to clear his cache(is that even a suggestion, huh!)
    I’ll look into the forums thread when I get some free time.

    -> My NFS guide.
    I never said anything about Window$. I said hotmail was misbehaving. I still like Window$ for games, though codeweavers have been kind to me offlate 🙂

    -> There are loads of folks who would be disgusted to see your comment on Microsoft. Please stop this.
    Its me who decides what content my blog will have. I think, I have the freedom of expression. I can’t write content that the whole world feels happy upon reading.

    -> If considering SoC, M$P Program etc as bribe…
    It would be a major blunder to bundle these two programs together. Its is bad to compare holy cow(SoC) to shitty pig(Whatever).

    PS: I am still waiting for a mail from you. (from a linux browser using live ID) or accept that I am right. I don’t think it will take more than 5 mins to compose a mail:) You are free to take help from your knowledgeable RVCE friend also 🙂

Leave a Reply

